A Day Trip to Nara

<Backlog alert: This trip was made back in 2014. Some details and information may be outdated>

Nara was the first permanent capital of Japan established back in the year 710. It houses many significant cultural and historical treasures which are somewhat concentrated in one area making it a perfect day trip destination from Osaka or Kyoto (both places are less than an hour’s train ride away).

IS7A1171

I followed the walking course as recommended by Japan’s tourism board. I did cut a few attractions out though due to insufficient time since I’m naturally a slow traveller due to the distraction of photo taking.

Coming in from Kyoto, I arrived at the Kintetsu-Nara station and headed to the Sarusawa-Ike Pond as planned. It was a beautiful spring day with some fantastic weather for a day out.

IS7A0693

If you look closely you can see the tortoises that are sunbathing on the log.

IS7A0803

Nearby is the Kofukuji Temple. There are many buildings in the temple grounds such as the To-kondo (East Golden Hall) and Five Storied Pagoda.

IS7A0727_HDR

Visitors saying a prayer and ringing the bell at the To-kondo.

IS7A0756

This is the Nan’endo (South Octaganal Hall).

IS7A0773

Next stop was the Yoshikien Garden. This is a lovely and peaceful garden. There were not many other visitors when I visited so I had much of the place to myself. Perfect for getting away from the throngs of tourists outside.

IS7A0850

The best part was entrance for foreign visitors is free! (250 yen fee apply for locals).

IS7A0880

Finally, we come to the mother of all attractions in Nara – Todaiji Temple. The main hall, Daibutsuden (Big Buddha Hall) is the largest wooden building in the world. It houses one of the largest bronze statues of Buddha in Japan.

IS7A0967

There seemed to be some grand event in Todaiji when I visited. There was a big procession of monks and the religious into the temple. I never did find out what the event was though.

IS7A0931

Those shoes do not look comfortable. Imagine having to negotiate that steep flight of stairs.

IS7A0985

Police personnel helping with crowd control as the procession of monks and religious exit the temple after the event.

IS7A1002

After the event was over, I went inside the temple. Here’s a closer look of the towering bronze statue of Buddha.

IS7A1010

One of the pillars in the hall has a hole at the bottom. The story goes that if you can pass through the hole you will be granted enlightenment in your next life. The hole is rather small though so it’s mostly children having a go at it but that doesn’t deter some adults from trying… and getting hilariously stuck in the process.

IS7A1025

I passed by the Nigatsu-do (Hall of the Second Month) on the way out of Todaiji. This is a temizuya where worshippers wash their hands and mouth before approaching the building of worship. I really liked the drawing and the dragon fountain head.

IS7A1047

The light was too good not to stop for a few photos!

IS7A1061

Now, we come to Kasuga Taisha, Nara’s most celebrated Shinto shrine. It’s famous for its bronze lanterns which have been donated by worshippers.

IS7A1146

Blooming wisteria flowers found inside the shrine.

IS7A1136

Finally, I ended the day at Nara Park to do some deer watching. Similar to Miyajima in Hiroshima, deer roam freely in Nara as they are considered sacred messengers of the Shinto deities. The deer in Nara have actually learned to bow when asking for food! Even the animals are polite in Japan.

IS7A1095

It was a good day trip to Nara and I would highly recommend you take a day to visit Nara if you are staying in Osaka or Kyoto.

4 thoughts on “A Day Trip to Nara

  1. Beautiful! Beautiful! Simply beautiful and awesome photos! I do sound fake but that’s my sincere feelings after seeing your great photos. Seeing them today makes my day! Each photo could make me pause and fall into meditation!

    I also visited Nara in 2014 for a day trip and knew I missed many places. We spent all our time at the Todaiji Temple, playing with the deers and wasted my time at the museum. So many hamsap deers bit me hard front and back. They never had enough food that I gave and kept bowing. Now you tell me they are so polite. Heh heh….

    I must visit Nara again after my Sapporo in 2017. Will walk your trails.

    • The deer that I met were really polite! They would bow and when they noticed I have no food they’d just walk away. Or maybe cause the ones I came into close contact with were the deer at the park. The ones near the temple seem to be more aggressive and I’ve seen them snatch people’s food. Haha.

      As always thank you for your very kind words sir 🙂

  2. Nice! You’ve been blogging a lot lately, that’s awesome!

    I just came back to Sarawak (to vote) and am catching up on all your posts. Nara looks like a beautiful place. I’m not surprised to see that the deer will actually come up to you to be hand fed, that happens in certain parks in Victoria too. When I lived in Melbourne, I used to go around the countryside and some of the popular destinations in Grampians or Yarra would always have deer that aren’t afraid of people and would come up to be hand fed.

    It can be a problem if they’re aggressive though, they look tame and cute but they’re wild animals (as signs are prompt to remind you in parks).

    I’ve never been to Nara but I’ll be sure to swing over during our next trip later this year. We haven’t decided whether to go to Kyoto, Osaka or Okinawa, which would you recommend?

    • I haven’t been to Okinawa so take my opinion with a bucket load of salt. I’ve always had this impression that Okinawa is best known for it’s warmer climate (nearer to the equator) and beaches. It seems that we have ample supply of those nearer to home. So I’d prefer to visit Kyoto/Osaka.

      Kyoto has many temples, shrines, historical monuments to visit though you can get ‘templed out’ (all the temples start to look the same after awhile). On the other hand, Osaka is a food haven (okonomiyaki!). You can also geek out in Osaka’s equivalent of Akihabara (electronics and otaku merchandise hub) in Nipponbashi Den Den Town.

Leave a Reply

