All That Remains

Okay, picking up where I left off 5 months ago…

I had a week off in the last week of December 2013 (our office closes for the New Year) so I decided to venture further to other parts of Japan. My destination – Hiroshima. If you remember your history lessons in school, then you will remember Hiroshima, the first city to be devastated by the atomic bomb. I’ve always been quite the history buff so this is something right down my alley.

IS7A7807

Today, Hiroshima is just like any other modern Japanese city – tall buildings, an extensive public transportation network, convenience stores everywhere, etc. One of the few reminders of that fateful morning on Aug 6, 1945 is this building, the Hiroshima Peace Memorial.

IS7A5908

Formerly used as an exhibition hall, this was one of the few buildings that remained standing after the bomb because the detonation took place almost directly above the building. Since I visited during winter, some of the trees were barren and I thought they would make a good addition to the photo to give it a desolate atmosphere.

IS7A5933

Next I visited the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum (which is just a stone’s throw away from the memorial building). The museum highlights the history that led to the dropping of the bomb and the science behind the destruction and effects of the bomb. Though perhaps the most engaging is the extensive collection of items owned by the bomb victims, each with a depressing story to tell.

IS7A6127

I’m not going to say much about how I feel about World War 2. After all, it’s a highly complex sequence of events and hey, this is supposed to be a photography cum travel blog anyway. But I will highly recommend everyone to visit the museum (seriously, add it to your bucket list). Yeah, it’s rather depressing but I think it’s a good experience… and a good reminder that we should not take for granted the peace we’ve enjoyed in recent decades.

6 thoughts on “All That Remains

  1. how lovely that you live in japan and have access to all these breathtakingly beautiful places. ((((‘:

    the second pic blew me away! nice update. totally worth the wait.
    teehee.

    thanks for the comment you left back at mine. funnily enough, the only people i’m in constant communication with these days are my family & my boy friend, too. lol! ah, technology (:

    • Thanks for checking back despite my long absence! Haha. Yep I do feel extremely lucky that I’m able to visit all these places. Hope to hit a few more destinations before my stint here is over. How time flies!

  2. Welcome back!!! …. Hiroshima looks nice and tranquil. I was at Nagasaki recently and visited the Hashima Island too. Now you are luring me to visit Hiroshima next. It was an eye opener for me at the Nagasaki’s Atomic Bomb Museum to learn that these 2 places were kinda last minute target for the bomb! I felt the whole WW2 and A-bombing should never have started in the first place.

    • I highly recommend visiting Hiroshima. Besides the atomic bomb museum, there are also other interesting places around the region (which I will blog about in due time :)). I just read your post on Nagasaki. Aaahhh… really hope I have a chance to visit before I leave Japan. If only it wasn’t so far away from Yokohama!

Leave a Reply

