Bullseye!

Maybe it’s cause I’m a dude (or that I play too many video games) but I’ve always been fascinated with archery. The process of drawing an arrow, taking aim, breathing control and taking the shot – it almost feels analogous to taking a photograph. If you ask me, there’s only one thing cooler than archery – horseback archery.

IS7A3686

Yabusame is a Japanese archery ritual performed at religious festivals. Archers take turn galloping down a track at high speeds to shoot 3 targets in quick succession. While commonly performed at Shinto shrines, the one at Zushi (which I attended) is a little special – it’s performed on the beach. Talk about upping the ante.

IS7A3751-Edit

It was pretty exciting and adrenaline pumping to watch the archers do their thing. There’s also something about the period costumes which really add to the atmosphere. I felt like I was part of a movie set!

IS7A3911The event drew to a rather premature end as the winds were so strong they could not keep the targets stable. I was rather disappointed because I *just* managed to squeeze into a new spot when they decided to call it a day. Better luck next time I guess.

6 thoughts on “Bullseye!

  1. Me too! I’ll love to get a recurve bow or a crossbow but it’s hard to get a permit.

    The government is even banning AirSoft and BB guns – the latter is understandable (somewhat) but the former is used for fun and doesn’t exceed 400 fps muzzle velocity for competitions. I hear paintball markers are being banned too. Alas…

Leave a Reply

