Kamakura – Still Finding My Zen

After 15 minutes of walking under the merciless summer sun, I arrived at Kencho-ji, the most important Zen temple in Kamakura.

IS7A3027

And it did not disappoint. Kencho-ji’s towering sanmon (entrance gate) definitely lives up to it’s stature.

IS7A2894

There are 2 temple halls here, the Butsuden (Buddha Hall) and Hatto (Dharma Hall). The Hatto really captured me with it’s colorful drapes around the hall. Oh and that painting of a dragon on the ceiling. How cool is that?

IS7A2964

Another point of interest is Kencho-ji’s main hall, the Hojo. I was photographing the Hojo’s gate when I noticed these Japanese men walking by. I thought it would be interesting to contrast the modern Japanese men in suits against a historical backdrop so I waited for them to walk into my frame and snapped away.

IS7A2950

As the sun rose higher into the afternoon sky, the lighting wasn’t so flattering for photos. And I was slowly dying from the heat. But it was getting late and I had to move on.

IS7A3005

Entrance to Kencho-ji will set you back 300 yen. These temple entrance fees can build up quite fast so be sure to budget accordingly. Fortunately, my next stop was free of charge, the Shinto shrine, Tsurugaoka Hachimangu.

2 thoughts on “Kamakura – Still Finding My Zen

  1. I love your title – these are a really nice set of photos. I like the one with the smiling high school students (?) walking across while chatting, provides a nice life to the photo. 🙂

    • They are actually working adults. They were at the temple for a wedding ceremony hence the business suits. Yep, I thought it would be nice to have some people in my photos. Seems like I am just taking shots of buildings and scenery lately.

Leave a Reply

