Honor Thy Ancestors

So someone actually told me that ferris wheel was getting boring. Okay let’s try something different this time around.

I was on my way back to my apartment when I stumbled onto a small neighborhood Obon Festival.  Obon is basically a Japanese Buddhist custom to honor one’s ancestors. It’s the Japanese equivalent of the Chinese Hungry Ghost Festival.

IS7A2489

I was immediately captured by the colorful lanterns and wanted to capture that but it was just a photographic nightmare. The dynamic range of the scene was very high.

It was a windy night and people were moving around so HDR  processing was out of the question. So I exposed for the bright lanterns and tried to recover as much shadow detail as possible from Lightroom. Even then it was not perfect as some lanterns just seem brighter than others.

IS7A2626

With a daily routine of work and sleep, I sometimes forget that I am ACTUALLY in Japan. So I am grateful for scenes like this because they remind me that there is so much more to see and learn in this beautiful country.

6 thoughts on “Honor Thy Ancestors

Leave a Reply

