That Red Beetle

Spotted this Beetle tucked away in a lonely side alley in Bali.  I was immediately captured by the brilliant metallic red paint.

IS7A0461

Such nostalgia to see this car again. One of my late uncles drove a Beetle and I used to go on rides in his car back when I was still a kid. I remember that the air conditioner was faulty so we had to wind down the windows for ventilation. I loved how the wind felt in my face as we drove along the quiet streets of Ipoh. Good times.

8 thoughts on “That Red Beetle

    • Thank you Andreas. I guess I have Adobe to thank for that. The selective saturation sliders on Lightroom 4 made it really easy to achieve such an effect in post processing. I remember the old days when I had to fiddle with layer masks on Photoshop 🙂

      By the way, some really nice photos on your site. I will be looking forward to more of your work for my daily inspiration!

      • Thank you so much, Vincent. Absolutely agree, it is really nice in LR to work on this, unless it’s a blue car under the bright sky 🙂

        I am glad, I found you, too. The stories you tell along and with your pictures are amazing and very inspiring. Keep up the great work! 🙂

        • Yep, a blue car under a bright blue sky would be troublesome. But that’s where LR4’s selective brushing would be useful. LR4 is really a great one-stop photo editing tool that I rarely use Photoshop these days 🙂

          Thank you once again for your kind words Andreas.

Leave a Reply

