Bali – Paradise on Earth

After playing tourist for the last few days, it was time for something a little off the beaten path. Venturing deep into inland Bali up the slopes of Mount Batukaru, the remainder of the trip was spent at Bali Eco Stay.

IS7A0916

Staying on a remote eco resort with limited access to creature comforts like television and a bath tub might not be everyone’s cup of tea. But if you’re a nature lover looking to unwind, this is the place to go. There are plenty of things to do.

Trek the jungles. Look out for resident dogs Ash, Buddha or Sonic who may follow you along your trek. There was a point in the trek when the path splits to a crossroad. While I was fumbling with the map deciding on which direction to take, the dogs were pointing me to the correct direction in no time at all!

IS7A0845

Besides going into the jungle, I wandered the area among the paddy fields and friendly locals. I had a bit of a “city boy” moment because I’ve never seen a rice plant before.

IS7A1182

After an arduous trek, I took some time to cool my feet at the nearby waterfall.

IS7A0961

And of course, the weather had to literally rain on my parade again. So I spent much of my second day here chilling in the bungalow with a good magazine. A perfect way to recharge and relax.

IS7A1259

Come night time I decided to try and photograph the night sky. Being so far away from civilization (i.e. light pollution), I reckoned I should be able to spot a few stars. It didn’t turn out so bad either though I really wished I brought a tripod with me.

IS7A0888

My stay in Bali Eco Stay passed by in a flash and finally, it was time to leave. It was also my last day in Bali. After checking out and a few hours of souvenir shopping around Kuta, I took the evening flight back to Singapore. So this concludes my Bali travelogue report.

IS7A0791

While the trip did not run as smoothly as I wanted, I still had a great time in Bali. I tend to freak out when things do not go as planned so this was a good lesson in staying calm and going with the flow. As the saying goes, every cloud has a silver lining. And Bali seems to have an ample supply of beautiful clouds in it’s skies.

4 thoughts on “Bali – Paradise on Earth

  1. Nice series. The waterfall shot is definitely my favorite. Great use of the foreground rocks and leaves. I also like the vines that are coming down into the scene. I don’t know what f-stop you used, but maybe slowing down the shutter speed would have given a nicer effect on the pool of water.

    • Thank you for your kind words Mark. I do have a few shots of the waterfall with a slower shutter speed but it’s not sharp. Probably because I did not have a tripod with me so I took the shot with the camera resting on the foreground rocks. This is a good example of the importance of a good sturdy tripod as you pointed out the other day šŸ™‚

    • Thank you for taking the time to drop by and comment Malou šŸ™‚ I am sure there must have been plenty of such beautiful sights in the Philippines. I hope to travel there some time in the future.

Leave a Reply

