Point of Entry Revisited

The year was 2009 and I was spending the holidays back at home. Plagued by insomnia and boredom, I set up my camera, tripod, flash and a bowl of water. Armed with a cherry and plenty of persistence, this was the result after 300 odd attempts or so.

Fast forward to 2013, I dug out the shot from my archives and decided to give it a new lease of life. After all, I think I’ve learned a great deal more about post processing now.

IMG_9250

This is the final result… which also happens to be my submission for The Digital Lightroom Photo Competition. Alas, it was not good enough and I did not even finish in the top 3.

Nevertheless, it was a great honour to be short-listed in the top 10. I’m already thinking of what to shoot for the next theme – Still Life.

 

2 thoughts on “Point of Entry Revisited

  1. I definitely like the 2013 version. The cherry has a more pleasing angle and the blue water makes the splashing water pop more. I heard Matt Kloskowski say once that he likes going back through his images and reprocess them. He showed a few examples and the differences were noticeable. With gained experience and the advances in software, you can definitely bring new life to old photos.

  2. @ Mark: Thank you for your kind words. And that is why I do not delete my old photos even the ones which did not inspire me enough to process them in the first place. I always feel that perhaps one day I might return and see the shots in a different way.

Leave a Reply

