Captivating Cambodia: Return to Angkor Wat

I asked the driver to bring me back to Angkor Wat and he gave me a puzzled look. “You not finish walking in morning?” I nodded my head and told him I wanted to catch the sunset from Angkor Wat. Again, another puzzled look as most people go to the hilltop temple, Phnom Bakheng, to view the sunset.

IMG_9953

But having read about how crowded the place gets at sunset, I decided to try something different. So off I went back to Angkor Wat, my journey going full circle, returning back to where I started. When I arrived Angkor Wat was ALOT more crowded than in the morning.

IMG_0006

At that point,  I wondered if my decision to come back was wise. I never liked taking photos jam packed with tourists in it. Anyhow, I proceeded to climb to the higher level of Angkor Wat – something which I could not do in the morning as it was not opened.

IMG_9957

Be warned though the climb is not for those of poor health. It is a very steep and long climb. I really would not recommend going up if you have a heart condition or fear of heights. You won’t be missing much (in my opinion anyway). For myself, I just held on tight to the handrails and focused on each step carefully.

IMG_0008

The central tower, the highest point of Angkor Wat.

I thought the climb up was bad but the climb down was worse. Keep calm and slowly descend.

IMG_0012

By then, it was getting quite late and the weather was looking gloomy. As I was making my way out, lo and behold, the heavens opened and it started pouring. Suddenly, the decision of skipping Phnom Bakheng did not seem so bad after all.

IMG_0094

The rain did not last for long, maybe 30 odd minutes or so. And as the rain stopped, the clouds parted to reveal a glorious setting sun in the sky.

IMG_0063

I couldn’t ask for a more beautiful ending to my temple hopping adventure.

4 thoughts on “Captivating Cambodia: Return to Angkor Wat

  1. @Arham Md Ali, thank you for your kind words (: I use a Canon 7D and for travel, I usually use the Canon 10-22 lens to go with it.

    I love the Fuji X100! Image quality is very nice and the small, compact size makes it very convenient to bring around. Lugging a DSLR around is inconvenient and tiring sometimes.

Leave a Reply

