Thaipusam 2012 – One Man’s Journey

When I arrived at the temple grounds, a young man has just began making preparations for the procession.

He begins by making offerings to Lord Murugan.

As he prayed in silence, onlookers like myself awaited the next phase of the preparation…

… the piercing of the body with spikes and skewers.

Here, the kavadi is mounted for what I think is a test drive, to check the stability and structural integrity.

Now, here’s the sad part for me. I did not get any decent photos of the tongue and mouth piercing. I was crowded out by other photographers who were using shorter lenses (I was using the 70-200mm).

When the preparations were complete, the horde of photographers went on to haunt the next devotee clearing a path for him…

… a path for him to continue his journey – a journey of sacred pain.

2 thoughts on “Thaipusam 2012 – One Man’s Journey

Leave a Reply

