Italy – Day 4 – Venice – Part 2

Had lunch after the gondola ride. After that, we were given “free time”. No guided tours whatsoever, we were free to explore Venice on our own. My parents were more interested in shopping so I went off on my own. I have to admit it was quite intimidating to explore a foreign land by myself. Looking back now, it was perhaps the best afternoon I’ve spent alone with my camera.

From the piazza I could see a cathedral in the distance on an island opposite from where I was. That was my destination for the day. I wasn’t sure how I was going to get there but I just headed off in the direction that was most sensible.

As I made my way behind the piazza, I was greeted by the sight of hundreds of pigeons! I am not sure if it is legal to feed them (swore I saw a signboard forbidding it) but there were people doing it anyway.

I continued on my way hoping to find some connection to the island across. And indeed they were connected by a bridge. Not sure if there is a specific name for this bridge. Couldn’t find anything on Google.

I Gesuati

Along the way another interesting building caught my attention, the I Gesuati.

Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute

After a bit more walking, I finally reached my destination, the Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute.

The interior of the basilica overlooking the main altar. Spent some quiet time in the basilica before making my way back to meet up with the rest of the tour group.

Stopped along the way to take this shot (which is a personal favourite of mine). It’s funny how I only took notice of this scene on the way back. Sometimes we really need to take a second glance at things to appreciate it’s beauty.

The day ended with me feeling a sense of accomplishment as I shared the stories and photos I captured with my parents. It kinda inspired me to travel somewhere solo… though I haven’t picked up the balls (or have the money) to do that yet.

4 thoughts on “Italy – Day 4 – Venice – Part 2

  1. Vincent, my son is an only child and I was VERY protective when he was with us in our home. Now he is 32 and I am still protective. You have good parents and a keen eye.

Leave a Reply

