Italy – Day 1 – Vatican City / Rome

So, picking up from 3 months back…

Touching down on the Fiumicino Airport in Rome, taking my first step and breath on European soil, I have to admit it felt rather unreal. It was my first time this far away from home. Yes, I am quite the kampung boy.

First stop the very next day, Vatican City. Unfortunately, I was too busy gawking at everything to be operating my camera.

This is the only shot I consider a keeper, the main altar of St. Peter’s Basilica. Since I was in a tour group, time was extremely limited. Barely explored the city before I had to leave.

After that, off to one of the new 7 wonders of the world, the Colosseum.

But first, next to the Colosseum is the Arch of Constantine.

I like the shot but that fence is really an eye sore. If only I could magically Photoshop them away…

This is the interior of the Colosseum.

One last shot the Colosseum before proceeding to our next stop of the day.

Another famous attraction of Rome, the Trevi Fountain. It is said that visitors who throw a coin into the fountain are ensured of a return to Rome. I did my share of coin throwing but I used a RM0.50 coin instead. Not sure if it works that way…

Our last stop was the Spanish Steps. Unfortunately, it started to rain heavily so I do not have any decent photos of the place. That pretty much concludes the first day of the trip.

Rome is a beautiful city. Unfortunately, visiting in a tour group meant time was extremely limited. There is so much more of Rome I wanted to see – Pantheon, Roman Forum, more of Vatican City, etc.

A revisit to the Eternal City is definitely on my bucket list now.

5 thoughts on “Italy – Day 1 – Vatican City / Rome

  1. anorwen: Thank you. I really want to revisit Rome myself too.

    “Our traveling without moving!…”: Thanks! I hope my photos have done justice to Rome’s beauty.

    Thank you to everyone who has ‘liked’ my post πŸ™‚

  2. Guo Jian: HAHA. The tour guide said that the fountain is cleared once a week and the coins donated to charity. Imagine all the random currency they find in there.

Leave a Reply

