Singapore Zoo: Vertigo

One of the attractions I was looking forward to at the Singapore Zoo was the Fragile Forest section, a free flight butterfly enclosure which also houses other animals. Needless to say, I was quite looking forward to shooting some butterfly macro. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of going there as my last stop of the day in the late evening, the time when most butterflies go into hiding for the night.

As a result, all I have are shots of this bat. Don’t know what bat it is. Was too tired to bother reading all the information plagues at that point of time.

This is my favorite shot of the bat. I will have to apologize though for the slight obscene nature of the photo with the bat’s family jewels hanging there in all its glory for the world to see.

Would have love to get a shot of a bat in flight but I was using my macro lens which has the autofocus speed of a snail. Yep, the above shots were all taken with the macro lens too. I was intending to use it for some butterfly macro but ended up using it as a telephoto lens to shoot bats instead.

Guess you never know what to expect at the zoo! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Singapore Zoo: Vertigo

  1. Sweet! 🙂

    That’s a flying fox/fruit bat, I think. I see them every day here in Brissy. Not sure about the exact species, but looks like the endangered giant golden-crowned flying fox. Is it really big?

  2. Michy! I still don’t know what bat that is. Did a brief Google on fruit bats. Definitely looks like one of them 🙂

    Nic! Come, come. Let’s go to the zoo! 😀

Leave a Reply

