A Taste Of Speed

While I have not been shooting much macro, my camera hasn’t been exactly rotting since last year. I did used it to cover a few sports games in January. I was damn well excited to test out the Canon 7D by shooting sports. This monster equipped with a 8 FPS burst rate is just made for action photography.

Paired with my Canon 70-200mm f/2.8,Β  I was ready to cover my first hall event of the year (which was a game of handball) and to take this baby out for a test drive. And I have to admit I loved every moment of it.

Here, the keeper stretched out to try and make a save. Unfortunately, he was just inches away from it. Such shots were still possible during my 400D days but would require some amount of luck on the timing.

And this is my favorite shot of the day. The post-processing in this shot is to meant to highlight the man of the moment. For that split second, nothing else matters as supporters lock their gaze on attacker and goalkeeper battling to fend the other off. Indeed for that brief moment, nothing else in the world matters.

The Canon 7D just made action photography so much more easier for me (at times I feel like I am cheating). However, it’s not a guarantee to getting good shots as at the end of the day, it’s the person behind the camera that matters most.

2 thoughts on “A Taste Of Speed

  1. Excellent action shots πŸ™‚ Glad you are enjoying the 7D and not letting it grow mouldy πŸ™‚

    We should go back to Jurong Birdpark one day πŸ˜› You should be able to focus way faster now haha

Leave a Reply

