When birds go bump in the night

Now here’s something you don’t see everyday. An owl concussing outside your room.

According to eye witnesses, the owl flew over from another block to mine and crashed onto the wall directly outside my room. I was having dinner in my room and was oblivious to what happened until a friend told me the owl crash landed outside my room. It lied on the floor motionless and we were wondering if it was dead before it sprang into life and tried to escape. Unfortunately, it seemed to have injured its wings. Unable to fly, the bird was hopping around for a moment before it stopped and lied on the ground motionless again.

The bird has ouch written all over it’s face. Managed to snap a few shots before someone alerted campus personnel for help. Some dude came with gauntlets and just gently carried the bird away. Damn, these campus security personnel must beย  trained and prepared for the weirdest of shit to happen.

Anyway, if you haven’t noticed yet, the photos are slightly underexposed and noisy. That’s because I did not want to use the flash on the bird hence all shots were taken at ISO3200 (with the Canon 7D).

To end, here’s hoping for better days ahead for the poor owl. Maybe I’ll see you at the Jurong Bird Park!

11 thoughts on “When birds go bump in the night

  1. kurt, I’m guessing something startled it? Or maybe it was just a particularly blur owl. Yep, the bird is in good hands. Should be receiving treatment now at the bird park I guess.

  2. Nic, so sorry your comments are only appearing now. WordPress has been filtering them as spam ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I’ve thought of that too actually. I mean the owl’s eyes are meant for vision at night. All that dorm lights must have blinded it or something.

    If that happened in Malaysia, I bet the security will just pick the fella up and dump it into the rubbish bin ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  3. Oh my! What a beautiful little owl. We don’t see many owls here where I live.. so cool the personnel came over and took care of it as if they do they sort of thing all the time. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. kurt, LOL! That is damn true.

    Latrina, don’t usually see any owls here either. I’m staying in campus so its all buildings everywhere. Surprised that an owl got all the way here.

Leave a Reply

