NUS Rag Day (8th August 2009)

For those of you who have no idea what NUS Rag Day is all about, check out my entry on the event last year here.

Yep, one year down the road, here I am again taking photographs of Rag Day for my hall (that’s Sheares Hall, in case you didn’t know). Time sure flies. Unfortunately, I did not have the media pass either this year. Hence, no photos of the dance performances. Had plenty of opportunity to shoot though during the static presentation.

Here is what looks like an emo-ingย  angel with his wings injured.

And of course, pretty girls in their beautiful and colorful make up. There are just some things I can never get tired of ๐Ÿ˜‰

A close up shot on the surface of one of the main floats. Can’t really remember which float it was. Can’t tell either what are the materials used as well besides the buttons. The choice of material and the level of detail of each of these floats never fail to amaze me year after year. This photo makes for some nice abstract art desktop wallpaper, don’t you think?

And fast forwarding through all the performances, we have shots from the announcement of results for Rag Day 09/10. The raw emotion of people cheering as the names of their faculty or hall of residence is called up always make for good shots. This year, Sheares Hall took home 2 challenge shields for their achievement on Flag Day. I’ll let this shot give you an idea of what the atmosphere was like as the results were announced.

Though we won the two shields, it was still very disappointing that we did not win anything for Rag (in terms of the float). This is perhaps, my personal favorite shot of the day with the Raggers huddled together for support as the hall flag flies high. To me, it is a reminder to all Shearites, that though we did not win, we did not lose either. Keep your spirits high, be proud of what you’ve done and fight on.

So, what have I learned from Rag Day this year? That having a media pass or not does not freaking matter actually. What matters is that you have a freaking long lens, some level of ignorance and skin thickness. Because at the end of the day, every Tom, Dick and Harry photographer, be it an official photographer or just an enthusiastic amateur like me, can get inside the media box and shoot from there anyway. Yep, I know what I’m going to be doing come Rag Day next year.

2 thoughts on “NUS Rag Day (8th August 2009)

  1. I’ll do that only IF I get the media pass. Otherwise, I’ll just play dumb and walk into the media box all prepared with tripod and 70-200mm lens ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

