Beyond 1:1

3 months ago, before I stashed all my equipment into my drybox and decided to temporarily call it quits, I actually bought a little piece of equipment to further enhance my macro experience, the Raynox DCR-250. I will not be writing a review for this item. In fact, I feel that there is no need for me to do so. The DCR-250 has already established itself well enough in the market as the perfect solution to photographers who want to shoot macro but do not want to invest in a more expensive macro lens or perhaps own semi-pro camera bodies. A little Google search will yield you much more information about it.

As you would expect, I have not used the DCR-250 much. As I was shooting the weevil (the one from my last post), I was amazed by how close I can get to it without it flying or running away. Naturally, I thought of the DCR-250 sitting alone within the darkest corner of my drybox. And so, I decided to give it a test run.

As you can see, I can fill up a lot more of the photograph now. And for your information, I kinda “cheated” for my other shot of the weevil since I cropped and trimmed away much of the empty space within the photo. For this shot, this is the original shot with no crop. Combining the Canon 100mm f/2.8 with the DCR-250 gives you a magnification ratio well beyond 1:1.Β  I’m not exactly sure how much as I do not fully understand the physics and maths behind all that optics myself.

Shooting with the DCR-250 on is very, VERY challenging (depends on what lens you are attaching the DCR-250 to) due to the extremely narrow depth of field. The correct shooting techniques (steady hands, controlling your breath, etc.) will come in handy here as the slightest movement could throw your entire subject out of focus. I won’t say that hand holding the camera is impossible but it’s alot tougher. A tripod will be good.

6 thoughts on “Beyond 1:1

  1. Good one Vincent. I used to couple it to my Tamron SP90, which gave me a mag of 1.7X. The longer the focal length, the more mag you’ll get out of it.

  2. wonder if we can use a telephoto for macro in this case. and YES, tripod is a must (together with 20m backspace to use the telephoto =p)

Leave a Reply

