VC: Oh! The Places You’ll Go

If you’ve been following my blog religiously ever since it’s birth (which I hope you have :P), you’ll remember me mentioning that I enjoy covering events by my hall’s Voluntary Corps (VC). In case you haven’t read, that post is here. It’s my own way of volunteering and helping out and at the same time do something which I’m really passionate about.

I had the opportunity to do so again a few weeks back when VC organized a half-day children’s workshop titled “Oh! The Places You’ll Go!” I’m not going to write on what happened that day but rather more of the story behind some of the shots I took. If you’d still like to read a coverage of the event, check it out here (also written by yours truly :P).

This is me trying to be artistic; this shot was taken when the children were listening intently to the emcees speaking on stage. I was just slacking around actually when suddenly I noticed this potential shot just screaming out to me. It hit me like a jolt of lightning. The photographer’s instinct within me just took over and naturally I raised my camera and lens to my eye level and snapped away.

Unfortunately, in my hasty attempt to capture the moment I forgot all about my settings (was shooting in manual mode) and the result was an underexposed shot. Hence the decision to convert it into a black and white photo. Also used Photoshop to boost the contrast a little and a bit of cropping.

One of my favorite shots of the day, this is me trying to pan running kids. Unfortunately, I still could not get the kids razor sharp with background thrown out of focus in motion blur. Not too sure what’s the problem. Perhaps the lens? Was using my Sigma 18-200mm OS and that’s definitely not the sharpest knife in the box. Or perhaps I did not pan my camera fast enough. Hmmm…

What I still like about this shot are the facial expressions of those kids running. I like how the boy on the far left of the photo is keeping an eye on his “opponents” while making sure he keeps up his own pace while the little girl on the other hand… well, she’s just having fun without a care in the world. Are guys just instinctively more kiasu competitive than girls?

And perhaps, my favorite photo of the day, this is my friend Mithran teaching a little girl how to shoot like a pro. Goes to show that we photographers can do so much more than just covering events. There were quite a few kids who wanted to try out my camera too. And despite the horror of imagining my camera dropping to the floor smashed into a million small little pieces, how can you possibly say NO to such cute and innocent faces?

Got a few more shots to share but I’d rather not turn this post into a super long winded one. So let’s save that for another day ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “VC: Oh! The Places You’ll Go

  1. The panning shot turned out alright. ๐Ÿ™‚ My fav of the series would be the B&W shot though.

    Well done ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes, we must always let kids try out cameras. Because then we can poison them to be photographers as well ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

