The Bees in Blue

I’m still alive and getting better since my last post. Think the fever is gone but the annoying sore throat and cough is still hanging around. Hopefully, will be all better by next week – gotta start doing some hardcore revision for the exams which is like 2.5 weeks away.

Anyway, if you’ve been wondering where the heck the last photo of the mosquito came from, I actually went for another insect hunt at the backyard last Saturday. I went in the late evening and though that meant having less time to spend there, it was still quite a fruitful journey I must say.

First up is this blue colored bee!

It’s the first time in my entire life that I’ve seen a blue colored bee. Hell, I didn’t even know there were such bees till I saw some photos of it on the internet like a month or so back. I spotted this bee flying around and decided to follow it around a bit. Apparently, it was searching for a place to hang on to and retire for the night.

“What amazing luck!”, I thought to myself. Not only was this my first time photographing this beautiful creature but I also had the luxury to do it at my own pace since it was going to rest and stay still on the twig.

Unfortunately, my hands seem to be extra wobbly and unstable that day (please, guys, don’t let your imagination run wild). All the shots I took were soft and its quite hard to tell from viewing it on the camera’s LCD screen. The shot shown above was probably the only usable one. Viewed at full size, the sharpness of the photo is acceptable but definitely not the full potential razor sharpness shown before by the lens.

All in all, I am satisfied with the shot taken but as always there will be a slight sense of regret as moments like this don’t come everyday. I’m beginning to consider the option of lugging my tripod along for macro shoots or I could try out using a monopod.

7 thoughts on “The Bees in Blue

Leave a Reply

