Itsy Bitsy Spider

Disclaimer: You might want to avoid this entry if you suffer from arachnophobia – a fear of spiders.

So why the fascination with spiders? I honestly have no idea. I have been fascinated with these eight legged creatures since I was a kid. I used to catch ants especially those winged ones which fly into my house and throw them onto a spider’s web. The ensuing process of the spider killing the ant and wrapping it in web is a joy to watch. Guess it’s thanks to all those animal documentaries I have been watching. My granddad and dad was a big fan of those shows.

Here’s a jumping spider which I shot the other day.

This is a type of jumping spider but I’m not entirely sure which species. I initially thought it was a Thiania bhamoensis jumping spider, perhaps more commonly known to older generations as the fighting spider. But after comparing the photo with photos of the fighting spider, I’m not so sure now. Do tell me if you know what jumping spider this is. It wasn’t easy photographing this spider as it was constantly moving around perhaps hunting and seeking prey.

Lastly, this is the Burmese lynx spider (Oxyopes birmanicus).

These spiders are active hunters during the day. They don’t build webs or traps and sit around all day waiting for something to happen. Like the jumping spider, this little guy too was actively running and jumping around from leaf to leaf actively in search of prey. I managed to get this shot just before the spider scurried off underneath some grass beyond my camera’s reach.

I realized that I usually find really good subjects to photograph towards the end of my macro shoots. That would be nearing sunset cause I usually shoot in the evenings. Back in Hort Park I found the four lined tree frog and in Kent Ridge park I had the cooperative dragonfly which stood still and allowed to take some great shots.

And this trip was no different as what I found was something totally magnificent and extraordinary… and not for the faint hearted.

(to be continued..)

2 thoughts on “Itsy Bitsy Spider

Leave a Reply

