An Unexpected Visitor

I was trying to study in my room last Friday when suddenly I felt a tingling sensation on my arm. I looked at my arm and there it was, this little spider, no more than 0.5 cm. The old me would’ve just brushed off the spider and if I wasn’t busy, I would probably release it somewhere safe like near some plants or shrubs. Instead, I instinctively picked up my camera, changed the lens, fitted in my flash and started shooting away.

Yes, that is actually my arm and my hair.

The little guy was quite tame. He didn’t move much and all the while took his time to explore up my arm. And when it went too high up towards my elbow, I’ll just put my left hand finger in it’s path and it would gladly climb onto it. It was pretty fun and for the first time almost literally a photographic opportunity came knocking on my door.

When I was done shooting with my “model”, I transported the little guy (or girl?) in a plastic container and released it on the leaf of some random plants. Macro photography is really beginning to grow on me though I think I still have a lot more to learn. I’m currently considering starting a log or record of the species of insects I’ve photographed before. It will become some sort of a collection I guess. But identifying the exact species of the insect might be a bit of a pain but I feel that it’d be worth it.

A higher resolution of the photos can be seen on my Flickr.

On an unrelated note, I’d like to wish all Malaysians a Happy 51st Merdeka Day!

8 thoughts on “An Unexpected Visitor

  1. Hi zhi!

    Haha. I’ve been doing fine but pretty busy with studies and everything. Gotta stop blogging and playing so much with the camera too 😦 How are you? Msg me la on MSN. I’m usually around… 😛

Leave a Reply

