New toy

Just came back from my Penang trip on Monday. Alas, I don’t have any shots to update at all since I made the mistake of leaving the camera at my relative’s place most of the time. I admit my paranoia got the better of me again and I’m really regretting it this time. Needless to say, I won’t be repeating this mistake again.

Anyway, another reason for my visit to Penang this time around besides to relax and eat all the good food, was also to visit a cousin of mine who’s also into photography. In fact, he’s been into it for a very long time (he started with film cameras) and he’s also a freelance wedding photographer. It was enlightening talking to him about photography and I must say I’ve learned much from him. Though he’s a Nikon user while I’m a Canon user myself we both share the same passion for photography.

My cousin recommended that I get the Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3. As the focal length suggests, its a very versatile lens especially for covering events. And since he knows some dealers in Penang, get this new lens I did.

I got this baby for RM1725 at Photo President, Prangin Mall. It was a good price considering the increasing exchange rates of Singapore, it would’ve been more expensive if I were to get it back in Singapore when I return for the new university semester.

I’m not going to write a review for the lens since I don’t think I’m experienced enough to do so. Regardless, I’m happy enough with the lens. Sure, the AF speed isn’t the fastest in the world and the images it produces isn’t the sharpest in the world when viewed at 100% magnification, but it’s good enough for my standards. I strongly believe that unless your camera and lens is responsible for putting food on your table, you don’t need the most expensive and best damn lens there is in the market.

The Optical Stabilizer (OS) is a damn good feature and it allows you to shoot at shutter speeds about 2 to 3 stops slower than normal. Keep in mind though that if your subject is moving those slow shutter speeds ain’t going to help you to freeze the motion.

This shot was taken with the Sigma 18-200. I’m still not very keen on using it much as I’ve yet to purchase a protective filter for it. Waiting for the local shop to replenish its stocks. Now, I’m hoping to get a macro lens as a Christmas present.

All in all, I’m very satisfied with the lens. Its a very versatile lens and might be the only lens some photographers will ever need.

One thought on “New toy

Leave a Reply

