My First Post: An Introduction

Greetings and welcome to my blog! My name is Vincent, currently an undergraduate student in Chemical Engineering from the National University of Singapore. I’m Malaysian and I hail from the quiet, sleepy town of Ipoh.

I’m hoping to use this blog as a place to improve and explore my passion in photography. I’m not much of a writing person. I’ve tried blogging before but the past few attempts have been nothing short of fruitless, eventually leaving my poor blog to rot and decompose in cyberspace. I always get this sudden urge to write and say what i have in mind but problem is, when I get down to actually writing it, 8 out of 10 times, I’ll get stuck halfway and decide to abandon the entry altogether. Hopefully this will not another one of those blogs.

Currently, I’m back in Ipoh and enjoying my 3 month break till early August before the new semester starts. Having this much time in hand, I’ve been fiddling around with my new baby, my Canon EOS 400D with the Sigma 18-50mm f2.8. I just got this like last week, so you can think of me as a happy 8 year old boy who just got a brand new Optimus Prime action figure toy.

Not much to shoot and photograph at home though. My dad may have an extensive orchid collection in the garden but they’re not flowering for some reason. After scouring the garden for something interesting to shoot, I had to settle for this small little flower (smaller than a 10 cent coin). The ants crawling around the flower helped to make the photo a bit more interesting.

Anyway, I shall end my first post by leaving you a few shots of that flower.

6 thoughts on “My First Post: An Introduction

  1. I’m actually asking myself this, how come you never join the photography club back in high school? Getting pro in photography huh? So much better than me, haha as if I was any good at all haha… Keep it up

  2. d’you know what i do? once i’m done with my thought, i just end it & hit PUBLISH. lol. that’s what you should do, i think (: who cares if it reads as “hanging” anyway. if a blog is a space for thoughts, then it is. just my two cents. (:

    • Yep, I think you make a good point. I’m really hung up on writing with elaborate intros and conclusions. Sometimes if I can’t get it right I just trash the draft…. and nothing gets published. I guess I’m too used to writing school essays – introduction, 4 points and a conclusion!

Leave a Reply

